Most everyone has heard the saying “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” but do you ever wonder (I know I have ALOT) does that mean that if someone treats me bad, I should in turn treat them bad because that’s how they want me to treat them?

If you are a religious person, you should know that there’s more to that “saying” than just that…The rest of that bible passage is:

27 “But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. 29 If someone slaps you on one cheek, turn to them the other also. If someone takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from them. 30 Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. 31 Do to others as you would have them do to you. Luke 6:27-31

So what that actually means to me is, pray for the person that is treating you badly, act kindly to them and forgive them for treating bad. That does NOT mean to let people just walk all over you and treat you like a doormat. Which personally I tend to do because I absolutely HATE confrontation, I hate it so much that I have a hard time watching reality TV where people argue and fight, it just makes me feel so uncomfortable.

There is a truly wonderful book titled “The Devil in Pew Number Seven” I truly believe that EVERYONE should read this book. I usually have a hard time reading anything other than fiction but this book is an award winning Autobiography written by  Rebecca Nichols Alonzo that took place when she and her family were living in Sellerstown, North Carolina which is a small town located close to the NC Coast South of Elizabethtown, Southeast of Lumberton, West of Wilmington and Northeast of Oak Island/Sunset Beach.

The description of the book reads “Rebecca never felt safe as a child. In 1969, her father, Robert Nichols, moved to Sellerstown, North Carolina, to serve as a pastor. There he found a small community eager to welcome him—with one exception. Glaring at him from pew number seven was a man obsessed with controlling the church. Determined to get rid of anyone who stood in his way, he unleashed a plan of terror that was more devastating and violent than the Nichols family could have ever imagined. Refusing to be driven away by acts of intimidation, Rebecca’s father stood his ground until one night when an armed man walked into the family’s kitchen . . . And Rebecca’s life was shattered. If anyone had a reason to harbor hatred and seek personal revenge, it would be Rebecca. Yet The Devil in Pew Number Seven tells a different story. It is the amazing true saga of relentless persecution, one family’s faith and courage in the face of it, and a daughter whose parents taught her the power of forgiveness.”

I have to continually tell myself that if Rebecca can forgive those that wronged her and her family than surely I can forgive “middle school drama & cliques” in the work place. I know a lot of times it’s so much easier said than done, but I have to remember to breath and let go, because Prison Orange is NOT my color!!! 

 

Image result

Leave a Reply

