I mentioned in my first post that I really don’t consider myself much of a SciFi fan, remember that? Typically when I think of SciFi I think of Aliens and Outer Space…I know there’s much more to Science Fiction than that, for example Super Hero’s are consider SciFi, Werewolves, Vampires, Zombies, Mutants, Robots, and Paranormal stuff are all categorized under the SciFi label.

    But my favorite is Time Travel…I mean come on; who doesn’t like the Back to the Future movies?!?

    future

    I don’t know why I’m so fascinated with Time Travel (before you ask, No I don’t believe it’s possible to travel in time.) Like I said before, I love the Back to the Future movies as well as both the Movie & TV Series “12 Monkeys” I’ve also gotten hooked on the new series “Timeless” and I absolutely love the Book Trilogy of In Times Like These by Nathan Van Coops.

    But what really got me to thinking about this post was after watching the TV Mini-Series of 11.22.63 which was adapted from Steven King’s Novel. I got this from Netflix as a 2 disc set and I was able to watch the first disc one night and the second the following night. And it got me thinking; if you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be and why?

    I honestly don’t think I would want change anything (I’ll explain in a minute) but how awesome would it be to go and visit monumental events in History? (In no particular order)  To witness the Signing of the Deceleration of Independence, the Boston Tea Party, the Gettysburg Address, the Dedication of The Statue of Liberty, the Wright Brothers at Kitty Hawk, MLK Jr’s I Have A Dream Speech, the Apollo Moon Landing, the fall of the Berlin Wall. Even the unpleasant things like the Assassination of Abraham Lincoln, JFK, MLK Jr, the bombing of Pearl Harbor, or to find out what REALLY happened during the Watergate Scandal…

    I think it would be so awesome to be able to go to a concert or performance of artists that may no longer be with us…to go see the Beatles during the “British Invasion”, to see Elvis in his younger years, Janis Joplin, The Ramones, Otis Redding, Jerry Garcia (I know Chef would love that one) Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, the original members of Lynard Skynard…I could go on and on, by the way do you notice something there? I really enjoy older music, back before they started this “edited manufactured crap” as I call most music today. Back in the old days you had to have real talent or you didn’t make it. 

    Okay sorry, I got a little off topic there. Back to explaining why I would rather witness things instead of trying to change them…this may sound a bit corny but I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. Everything both good and bad leads us to where we are in life and makes us the person we are. If you were to change ONE thing in your past (that ONE thing that maybe you wish you hadn’t done) could change things so that you never met the love of your life, then you may not have had your child/children, which would then lead to never having the grandkids you might have. 
    I’m sure you’ve all heard of the Butterfly Effect, right? The theory, not the movie…
                 This effect grants the power to cause a hurricane in China to a butterfly flapping its wings in New Mexico. It may take a very long time, but the connection is real. If the butterfly had not flapped its wings at just the right point in space/time, the hurricane would not have happened. A more rigorous way to express this is that small changes in the initial conditions lead to drastic changes in the results

    I also think that everyone we meet in our life has an effect on us in one way or another (good or bad.) I think people’s personalities, habits, mannerisms all rub off on us in some way, that is why I always try my best to treat others with respect and kindness, even when they may not really deserve it. 

    Okay enough of that, I want to try something to maybe generate more interaction on the blog posts, COMMENT ON THIS POST with what you would want to do or see if could travel in time. Where would you go, what time would you want to go to, what would you do? Would you try to change something like kill Hitler before he ever came into power or try to stop an assassination? 

    What I want to do is after I get a few posts i want to do a random drawing for some type of prize, I’m thinking I would like to maybe try to do something related to this post but I can’t say for sure because I don’t want to ruin the surprise 😉

    One thought on “Look, if you had, one shot, or one opportunity To seize everything you ever wanted. In one moment Would you capture it, or just let it slip? ~ Eminem

    Leave a Reply

    